Dark ‘n stormy

Growing up in the Midwest, I developed a love for all things stormy.   Thunderclaps so strong the house would shake; lightning that would make us start counting  “one Mississippi, two Mississippi” to see how far away the storm was.  (Each “Mississippi” between lighting and thunder translates to a mile, or so I remember being told).  On rare occasions, the tv would advise us to take shelter.

Now I live in the Pacific Northwest, and thunderstorms are rare.  However…

Last January, I took a winter trip to the Washington coast, spending a night at Kalaloch Lodge.  While booking that trip, I noticed they welcome “storm watchers,” and was intrigued by that.  I thought I was being ingenious for visiting the beach in January, when surely not many others would schedule a beach vacation.

But apparently enough folks are drawn by prospect of ocean storms that the Olympic National Park offers a Storm Watchers Package, complete with rain ponchos for two.

Jamie at Dungeness Spit 2009

Tuck 'n click, with a "backpack hitting the head" twist. Dungeness Spit in 2009 by Nancy Churillo.

I’ve mulled it over a bit in the last few weeks.  Should I go again?  Should I go alone?  One of my goals would be to photograph a storm if possible.  Perhaps a friend would be bored by tagging along and witnessing me burn through a billion rolls of film.  Although there would free demonstrations of photography gymnastics.  🙂

I looked up the rates this morning for late January, and it’s considerably cheaper than what I spent last year (then justified in my mind as a splurge and a much-needed mental vacation).  For 1 or 2 people in an ocean view cabin, it would be $299 for two weekday nights (weekends are more expensive). 

I’ve decided to go.  And I’m going to try going alone again.  I am quite shy, so solo travel is a challenge… more on that topic later. 

I’m excited.  Something to look forward to!  Look for my post and pics in February.

The cabins have their own kitchenettes, so I will be packing in all my own food (though I see breakfast is included in the Storm Watchers Package).  Considering the airfare and hotel costs of a traditional beach getaway vacation, I think my dark ‘n stormy mini-vacation will be much less expensive, and much more unique.

There is also the side bonus of a storm rendering the road tree-strewn and inaccessible, making it difficult to return to my day job in a timely way.  How can I go wrong? Sign me up for all of that.

Kalaloch Beach 1.2010

Kalaloch Beach. One of my favorite pics from last year. Copyright 2010 J. Eby

This entry was posted in tiny trips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

